The James E. Holshouser Jr. Distinguished Professorship

The James E. Holshouser Jr. Distinguished Professorship honors the Governor’s lifelong emphasis on effective local government and the economic improvement of North Carolina’s communities.

The professorship provides salary and research support for a faculty member working in an area such as local government law, public administration, community and economic development, or public leadership.

The faculty member holding this distinction will be identified as the James E. Holshouser Jr. Distinguished Professor, for the duration of his or her tenure at the School.




The Holshouser Professorship has met its initial goal of $333,000 and will be matched with $167,000 from the General Assembly's Distinguished Professorship Matching Program.  To further strengthen this endowment, the School welcomes additional gifts at any time.

Give online now, or  contact contact Becky Carter, development administrator, at 919.843.2556 or for more information.

Thank you!


       Make A Donation

Holshouser Professorship Committee

Honorary Chairs


Governor James B. Hunt, Jr.

Governor James Martin

Governor Robert W. Scott (deceased)


C. Ronald Aycock, Raleigh   Senator James Broyhill, Winston-Salem  
A. P. Carlton, Raleigh   Laurence A. Cobb, Raleigh 
S. Ellis Hankins, Raleigh  James E. Harrington, Bald Head Island 
Senator Fletcher Hartsell, Concord  Luther H. Hodges, Jr., Chapel Hill 
Marshall Hurley, Greensboro  Phillip J. Kirk, Jr., Raleigh 
George W. Little, Southern Pines (Committee Chair)  The Honorable Julian Mann, Raleigh  
The Honorable Fred Morrison, Jr., Raleigh  Charles B. Neely, Jr., Esq.,  Raleigh 
The Honorable Robert F. Orr, Raleigh  Ernest C. Pearson, Esq., Raleigh 
Susan Patterson, Sanford  Senator William R. Purcell, Laurinburg 
The Honorable Thomas W. Ross, Davidson  George Rountree, III, Wilmington 
Michael R. Smith, Chapel Hill  The Honorable Willis Whichard, Durham 

Thad Woodard, Raleigh