Microsite

NC Emergency Management

Emergency Preparedness and Disaster Assistance: School of Government Fields of Expertise

Expertise among faculty and staff of the School of Government may be valuable to local governments in the aftermath of hurricanes or other weather emergencies.

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Jonathan Q. Morgan
919.843.0972 morgan@sog.unc.edu

C. Tyler Mulligan
919.962.0987 mulligan@sog.unc.edu

COURT ADMINISTRATION ISSUES

Michael Crowell
919.966.4438 crowellm@sog.unc.edu

EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

Norma Houston
919.843.8930 nhouston@sog.unc.edu

EMERGENCY PURCHASING AND CONTRACTING ISSUES

Norma Houston
919.843.8930 nhouston@sog.unc.edu

Frayda S. Bluestein
919.966.4203 bluestein@sog.unc.edu

ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT AND REGULATION

Richard B. Whisnant
919.962.9320 whisnant@sog.unc.edu

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH

Jill D. Moore
919.966.4442 moore@sog.unc.edu

FIRE SERVICES

(Primarily financial issues, but also volunteer department/local government issues)
Kara A. Millonzi
919.962.0051 millonzi@sog.unc.edu

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY RECOVERY

Shannon H. Tufts
919.962.5438 tufts@sog.unc.edu

JAIL ISSUES

James M. Markham
919.843.3914 markham@sog.unc.edu

LAND USE REGULATION

(Including moratoria interim regulations, and flood hazard management ordinances)
David W. Owens
919.966.4208 owens@sog.unc.edu

Adam Lovelady
919.962.6712adamlovelady@sog.unc.edu

LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE DEPARTMENT QUESTIONS

(Payroll, accounts payable and receivable, etc.)
Gregory S. Allison
919.966.4376 allison@sog.unc.edu

Kara A. Millonzi
919.962.0051 millonzi@sog.unc.edu

PUBLIC HEALTH LAW

(Including communicable disease control and health department/board duties and authority)
Jill D. Moore
919.966.4442 moore@sog.unc.edu

PUBLIC INFRASTRUCTURE

(Planning and financing replacement)
Jeffrey A. Hughes
919.843.4956 jhughes@sog.unc.edu

Kara A. Millonzi
919.962.0051 millonzi@sog.unc.edu

PUBLIC RECORDS LAW

Frayda S. Bluestein
919.966.4203 bluestein@sog.unc.edu

Kara A. Millonzi
919.962.0051 millonzi@sog.unc.edu

In the event of damage to public records, local governments should contact the NC Department of Cultural Resources for advice.

Becky McGee-Lankford
Government Records Section Manager
919.807.7353 (work) 919.544.0659 (home) • 919.612.0488 (cell)

Sarah Koonts
State Archivist
919.807.7339 (work) 919.303.7413 (home) • 919.244.5944 (cell)

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT

Jeffrey A. Hughes
919.843.4956 jhughes@sog.unc.edu

STATE BUILDING CODE

(Including building condemnation, temporary electric power, nuisance abatement, and related questions)
Richard D. Ducker
919.966.4179 ducker@sog.unc.edu

UTILITIES

Jeffrey A. Hughes
919.843.4956 jhughes@sog.unc.edu

Kara A. Millonzi
919.962.0051 millonzi@sog.unc.edu

Shadi Eskaf
919.962.2785 • eskaf@sog.unc.edu

Glenn Barnes
919.962.2789 • barnes@sog.unc.edu

Mary Tiger
919.843.4958 • mwtiger@sog.unc.edu

 

Additional Contacts

Full list of School of Government fields of expertise

Tom Thornburg
Senior Associate Dean
919.966.4377 •thornburg@sog.unc.edu

School of Government Receptionist
919.966.5381

Public Officials - Local and State Government Roles