Albert and Gladys Hall Coates Teaching Excellence Award for 2025-2027

The Albert and Gladys Hall Coates Term Professorship for Teaching Excellence, established in 1998, honors a member of the School of Government faculty for excellence in teaching. The recipient will hold the position for a two-year term.

All teachers who hold full-time faculty positions in the School of Government are eligible for the award, except the dean and associate deans, holders of permanent chairs and previous recipients of the teaching award. The following individuals are included within those categories and therefore are **NOT** eligible for the teaching award:

Gregory Allison, David Ammons, Frayda Bluestein, Anita Brown-Graham, Sara DePasquale, James Drennan, Norma Houston, Cheryl Howell, Willow Jacobson, Robert Joyce, Adam Lovelady, Kara Millonzi, Tyler Mulligan, David Owens, John Rubin, Jessica Smith, Michael Smith, Carl Stenberg, Charles Szypszak, Thomas Thornburg, Aimee Wall, Jeffrey Welty, and Richard Whisnant

One recipient is selected biennially by the dean on recommendation of the School's teaching development committee. Nominations will be evaluated by the committee on the basis of the following considerations:

- A teaching portfolio submitted by each nominee
- Peer observations of the nominee's teaching
- The nominee's effective use of teaching methods and materials
- Student evaluations of the nominee's teaching, and recommendations by faculty, students, clients, and others
- The nominee's development of new, revised, or expanded courses, classes, or programs
- The nominee's contributions to the educational mission of the School of Government

Nominations are invited from state and local government officials and employees, court officials, lawyers, and others who have attended School of Government courses; faculty and staff of the School; MPA students; and MPA alumni.

To nominate a faculty member, please complete the form below or complete a nomination online at **sog.unc.edu/webforms/teaching-excellence-nomination-form**.

Paper applications can be mailed to Teaching Excellence Award, School of Government, UNC-Chapel Hill, Knapp-Sanders Building, Campus Box 3330 Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3330.

Applications can also be emailed to **teaching-award@sog.unc.edu**.

The deadline for nominations is **June 5**, **2024**. If you need additional information, please contact Willow Jacobson (jacobson@sog.unc.edu) or Jamie Markham (markham@sog.unc.edu).

Albert and Gladys Hall Coates Teaching Excellence Award for 2025-2027 Nomination Form

Submitted by:

Name:	
Title:	
Organization:	
Phone:	
Email:	

Nomination:

I nominate	for the Albert and Gladys Hall Coates
Teaching Excellence Award. Please write a brief statement to illustrate th	e nominee's excellence as a teacher.
Your statement should include specific examples and may address items s	uch as how the nominee:

- Uses effective and engaging teaching methods;
- Creates quality handouts and useful teaching materials;
- Fosters an effective learning environment and builds rapport with students;
- Innovates in teaching; and
- Contributes to the educational mission of the School of Government

You may attach additional sheets if necessary.

To nominate a faculty member, please complete this form by June 5, 2024 and submit it by email to teachingaward@sog.unc.edu or by U.S. Mail to: Teaching Excellence Award, School of Government, UNC-Chapel Hill, Knapp-Sanders Building, Campus Box 3330, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3330.