Fundamentals of Property Tax Collection Law in North Carolina

Christopher B. McLaughlin

2011

Reflects all major legislative changes to the Machinery Act and related statutes through June 2011





The School of Government at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill works to improve the lives of North Carolinians by engaging in practical scholarship that helps public officials and citizens understand and improve state and local government. Established in 1931 as the Institute of Government, the School provides educational, advisory, and research services for state and local governments. The School of Government is also home to a nationally ranked graduate program in public administration and specialized centers focused on information technology, environmental finance, and civic education for youth.

As the largest university-based local government training, advisory, and research organization in the United States, the School of Government offers up to 200 courses, seminars, and specialized conferences for more than 12,000 public officials each year. In addition, faculty members annually publish approximately fifty books, book chapters, bulletins, and other reference works related to state and local government. Each day that the General Assembly is in session, the School produces the *Daily Bulletin*, which reports on the day's activities for members of the legislature and others who need to follow the course of legislation.

Michael R. Smith, Dean

Thomas H. Thornburg, Senior Associate Dean Frayda S. Bluestein, Associate Dean for Faculty Development Todd A. Nicolet, Associate Dean for Operations Ann Cary Simpson, Associate Dean for Development Bradley G. Volk, Associate Dean for Administration

FACULTY

Gregory S. Allison David N. Ammons Ann M. Anderson A. Fleming Bell, II Maureen M. Berner Mark F. Botts Michael Crowell Shea Riggsbee Denning James C. Drennan Richard D. Ducker Joseph S. Ferrell Alyson A. Grine Norma Houston Cheryl Daniels Howell Jeffrey A. Hughes Willow S. Jacobson Robert P. Joyce Kenneth L. Joyner Diane M. Juffras Dona G. Lewandowski James M. Markham Janet Mason Christopher B. McLaughlin Laurie L. Mesibov Kara A. Millonzi Jill D. Moore Jonathan Q. Morgan Ricardo S. Morse C. Tyler Mulligan David W. Owens William C. Rivenbark Dale J. Roenigk John Rubin Jessica Smith Karl W. Smith Carl W. Stenberg III John B. Stephens Charles Szypszak Shannon H. Tufts Vaughn Upshaw Aimee N. Wall Jeffrey B. Welty Richard B. Whisnant Gordon P. Whitaker

© 2011 School of Government The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Use of this publication for commercial purposes or without acknowledgment of its source is prohibited. Reproducing, distributing, or otherwise making available to a non-purchaser the entire publication, or a substantial portion of it, without express permission, is prohibited.

Printed in the United States of America

16 15 14 13 12 1 2 3 4 5

ISBN 978-1-56011-681-3

This publication is printed on permanent, acid-free paper in compliance with the North Carolina General Statutes.

Printed on recycled paper

Contents

Preface v Acknowledgments vii 1 Property Tax Collection Administration 1 2 The Property Tax Collection Calendar 29 3 Payment of Property Taxes 35 4 Deferred Property Taxes 57 5 The Property Tax Lien 67 6 Attachment and Garnishment 87 7 Levy and Sale of Tangible Personal Property 117 8 Set-Off Debt Collection 137 9 Advertising Delinquent Property Taxes 147 10 Foreclosure Myths 161 11 Discovery and Immaterial Irregularities 181 12 Refunds and Releases 197 13 Mobile Homes 211 14 Registered Motor Vehicles 223 15 Collecting Other Taxes and Fees 243 16 Property Taxes and Bankruptcy 273 17 Special Topics: Annexations and Tax Districts 305 Subject Index 317

Preface

This book updates and replaces William A. Campbell's seminal work, *Property Tax Collection in North Carolina*, the most recent edition of which was published more than a decade ago. Professor Campbell's enduring scholar-ship served as both a foundation and an inspiration for this book.

Several chapters included herein were previously published as School of Government *Property Tax Bulletins*. While those bulletins will remain available free of charge on the School of Government's website, their content has been updated and expanded for publication in book format. This book reflects all major legislative changes to the Machinery Act and related statutes through June 2011.

Christopher B. McLaughlin June 2011

Acknowledgments

I am indebted to my School of Government faculty colleagues Shea Denning, Ken Joyner, and Kara Millonzi for generously sharing their tax and finance wisdom and for never losing their patience with my incessant questions. My friends at the North Carolina Department of Revenue's Local Government Division, especially David Baker and Lee Harris, were always available to discuss particularly knotty tax problems. Without their input, this book would have suffered greatly.

I also owe thanks to the hundreds of dedicated local government tax professionals across North Carolina with whom I have had the pleasure of working and from whom I have learned much over the past three years. I am continually impressed by the dedication of these local government officials to the property tax profession, in particular Valerie Curry, Neal Dixon, Lorie Domnas, Stan Duncan, Pat Goddard, Jo Roberson, David Reid, Pete Rodda, Kim Simpson, and the many other talented leaders of the North Carolina Tax Collectors Association and the North Carolina Assessing Officers Association.

Most importantly, I thank my wife, Lynn Leubuscher, for her love and friendship.