North Carolina Association of Assessing Officers Recipients of Outstanding County Assessor of the Year Award

NCAAO Assessor of the Year:

The Assessor of the Year Award is designed to recognize one outstanding North Carolina Tax Assessor annually. It is presented in recognition of outstanding achievement in tax administration and public service. General requirements of the award include:

- 1. Must be a North Carolina Association of Assessing Officers member in good standing;
- 2. Must have been an Assessor for at least 10 years; and

Must be now or have been recently active in the regional tax association, North Carolina Association of Assessing Officers and International Association of Assessing Officers.

Year	Recipient	Jurisdiction
1964	Morton G William	Lenoir
1965	Edward S Hill	Davidson
1966	Robert Alexander	Mecklenburg
1967	Estelle Wicker	Moore
1968	James M Brothers	Wake
1969	Howard Holly	Pender
1970	Cameron Easton	Gaston
1971	Robert S Gidney	Cleveland
1972	James A Pitt	Edgecombe
1973	Thomas J Haywood	Union
1974	No award given	
1975	James L Clark	Lee
1976	Wallace L Peeler	Rowan
1977	W Harvey Pardue	Forsyth
1978	Larry J Powell	New Hanover
1979	James (Pete) Jacobs	Robeson
1980	B Ross Ingram	Wilson
1981	Jack A Williford	Bertie
1982	Lonnie W Bost	Wake
1983	Bobby R Miller	Catawba
1984	Roger C Cotton	Guilford
1985	Katye B Simpson	Surry
1986	Billy D Chilton	Randolph
1987	C Kenneth Murray	Nash

North Carolina Association of Assessing Officers Recipients of Outstanding County Assessor of the Year Award

Year	Recipient	Jurisdiction
1988	Will R Sullivan	Wayne
1989	Terry L Rowland	Cabarrus
1990	Jimmie Hardee	Pitt
1991	Crawford Collins	Onslow
1992	William L Jacobs	Moore
1993	Kermit Lloyd	Orange
1994	John W Edmondson	Wilson
1995	David Reid	Transylvania
1996	Cecil Dills	Jackson
1997	Bobby Wicker	Harnett
1998	Betty B Smith	Bladen
1999	Fred King	Caldwell
2000	W Gene Rountree	Nash
2001	Bill Doolittle	Rutherford
2002	Boyd Williamson	Brunswick
2003	Ronald V Antry	Craven
2004	Wayne Vanderford	Jones
2005	Jay Heavner	Gaston
2006	Richard Lightner	Macon
2007	David Ward	Wayne
2008	Emmett Curl	Wake
2009	William "Pete" Rodda	Forsyth
2010	John Petosky	Union
2011	Pat Goddard	Johnston
2012	Ben Chavis	Guilford
2013	Carl Tilghman	Carteret
2014	Harry Smith	Onslow
2015	J Brent Weisner	Cabarrus
2016	Phyllis Adams	Yadkin