Oaths of Office

All persons appointed or elected to a public office in North Carolina must take the constitutional oath, which is set out in Article VI, section 7, of the North Carolina Constitution. In addition, the following officers must by statute take either an additional oath or an augmented constitutional oath:

County Officers

Register of deeds	Specific additional oath – G.S. 11-11
Sheriff	Specific additional oath – G.S. 11-11
Deputy sheriffs	Specific additional oath – G.S. 11-11
County attorney	Specific additional oath $-$ G.S. 11-11
All other county officers	Specific additional oath $-$ G.S. 11-11
Tax assessor	Augmented oath – G.S. 105-295
Tax collector	Augmented oath – G.S. 105-349(g)
City and Town Officers	
Police officers	Specific additional oath – G.S. 11-11
Tax collector (if any)	Augmented oath – G.S. 105-349(g)