Albert and Gladys Hall Coates Teaching Excellence Award for 2019–2021

The Albert and Gladys Hall Coates Term Professorship for Teaching Excellence, established in 1998, honors a member of the School of Government faculty for excellence in teaching. The recipient receives a stipend of $6,000 per year plus funds for professional development expenses during the two-year term.

 All teachers who hold full-time faculty positions in the School of Government are eligible for the award except the dean and associate deans, holders of permanent chairs, and previous recipients of the teaching award. The following individuals are included within those categories and therefore are NOT eligible for the teaching award:

Mike Smith, Tom Thornburg, Greg Allison, David Ammons, Frayda Bluestein, Jim Drennan, Cheryl Howell, Willow Jacobson, Bob Joyce, Norma Houston, David Owens, John Rubin, Jessie Smith, Carl Stenberg, Chuck Szypszak, Aimee Wall, and Richard Whisnant

One recipient is selected biennially by the dean on recommendation of the School’s teaching development committee. Nominations will be evaluated by the committee on the basis of the following considerations:

  • A teaching portfolio submitted by each nominee
  • Peer observations of the nominee’s teaching
  • The nominee’s effective use of teaching methods and materials
  • Student evaluations of the nominee’s teaching and recommendations by faculty, students, clients, and others
  • The nominee’s development of new, revised, or expanded courses, classes, or programs
  • The nominee’s contributions to the educational mission of the School of Government

Nominations are invited from state and local government officials and employees, court officials, lawyers, and others who have attended School of Government courses; faculty and staff of the School; current UNC-Chapel Hill MPA students; and MPA alumni.

To nominate a faculty member, please complete the form below or complete a nomination online.

Paper applications can be mailed to Teaching Excellence Award, School of Government, UNC-Chapel Hill, Knapp-Sanders Building, Campus Box 3330, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3330.

Applications can also be emailed to

The deadline for nominations is June 14, 2019. If you need additional information, please contact Jamie Markham (919.843.3914) or Willow Jacobson (919.966.4760). 

PDF iconTeaching Award Nomination Form