Templates, Factsheets, How-Tos

List of Reported Recent Local Government Regulations Specifically Prohibiting the Use of E-Cigarettes in Government Buildings, Grounds, and / or Public Places

Friday, August 1, 2014
There are currently seven counties and three municipalities (ten total) that the Tobacco Prevention and Control Branch is aware of that specifically include e-cigarettes in their local government regulations prohibiting smoking and or the use of tobacco products. These regulations range from tobacco-free county buildings, including e-cigarettes in Beaufort County to 100% tobacco-free government buildings, vehicles and grounds, including e-cigarettes in Catawaba County and the Town of Catawba. Even more counties and municipalities (nine total) have requested technical assistance on model language to amend their existing smoke-free and tobacco-free regulations to specifically prohibit the use of e-cigarettes. The increase in requests for technical assistance on regulating the use of e-cigarettes is largely due to reported use of these newly emerging products in places like courtrooms, libraries and other government spaces where smoking and/or tobacco use is already prohibited. There are also concerns about the health effects of toxicant exposure of e-cigarette aerosol to children and adolescents, pregnant women, and non-users.
Download (pdf, 329.44 KB)