Adverse Weather Alert for Sept. 17-21

Campus has returned to normal operations as of 8 a.m., Tuesday, Sept. 18. For more information about the University’s policies on adverse weather or to find any updates, visit

The Leading for Results course for Cohort 1 of LGFCU Fellows has been canceled, with all participants invited to participate in Cohort 2 or a session in 2019.

The Effective Supervisory Management Program course to be held Sept. 17-21 has been canceled.

The Development Finance Toolbox course to be held Sept. 18-19 has been canceled.

The first week of Municipal and County Administration to be held Sept. 18-21 has been postponed.

Please check our website for any other changes in course schedules.

Frayda Bluestein Recognized by the North Carolina Association of Municipal Attorneys

In August 2016, faculty member Frayda Bluestein received the Earnest H. Ball Award for Excellence in Municipal Law from the North Carolina Association of Municipal Attorneys at the group's annual conference in Atlantic Beach. This award was established to "recognize persons who have made valuable contributions to the field of municipal law."

Bluestein was nominated by North Carolina Association of Municipal Attorneys Past Presidents Group, including Charlotte City Attorney Robert Hagemann, Sandord City Attorney Susan Patterson, Monroe City Attorney Terry Sholar (retired), Asheville City Attorney Robert Oast (retired), and Jacksonville City Attorney John Carter.

The group lauded Bluestein as a respected and valued teacher, advisor, resource, and friend to the North Carolina Association of Municipal Attorneys and its members. The nomination said, "her intellect, talents, personality, and sense of humor are noticed and appreciated by all who hae had the pleasure of learning from Frayda. Though Frayda's work is far from done, we thought it appropriate to nominate Frayda for this award as she, and we, celebrate her twenty-five years serving this organization, its members, the people of North Carolina, and the State of North Carolina."

The Ernest H. Ball Award was established in 1991 and has also recognized several former School of Government faculty members including David Lawrence, Jake Wicker, and William Campbell.

School of Government Dean Mike Smith said, "Frayda has dedicated herself to the mission of the School of Governmet, and that means she has devoted herself to North Carolina's public officials She always puts the interests of others first—both her municipal clients and her School colleagues. I am delighted to see her recognized for the exemplary contributions she has made to our state's municipal governmets."


Published September 8, 2016