The James E. Holshouser Jr. Distinguished Professorship


The James E. Holshouser, Jr. Distinguished Professorship honors the Governor’s lifelong emphasis on effective local government and the economic improvement of North Carolina’s communities.

The professorship provides salary and research support for a faculty member working in an area such as local government law, public administration, community and economic development, or public leadership.

The faculty member holding this distinction will be identified as the James E. Holshouser Jr. Distinguished Professor, for the duration of his or her tenure at the School.




The Holshouser Professorship has met its initial goal of $333,000 and will be matched with $167,000 from the General Assembly's Distinguished Professorship Matching Program.  To further strengthen this endowment, the School welcomes additional gifts at any time.

Give online now, or  contact contact Becky Carter, development administrator, at 919.843.2556 or for more information.


Thank you!



Holshouser Professorship Committee

Honorary Chairs 

Governor James B. Hunt, Jr.

Governor James Martin

Governor Robert W. Scott (deceased)


C. Ronald Aycock, Raleigh Senator James Broyhill, Winston-Salem 
A. P. Carlton, Raleigh Laurence A. Cobb, Raleigh
S. Ellis Hankins, RaleighJames E. Harrington, Bald Head Island
Senator Fletcher Hartsell, ConcordLuther H. Hodges, Jr., Chapel Hill
Marshall Hurley, GreensboroPhillip J. Kirk, Jr., Raleigh
George W. Little, Southern Pines (Committee Chair)The Honorable Julian Mann, Raleigh 
The Honorable Fred Morrison, Jr., RaleighCharles B. Neely, Jr., Esq.,  Raleigh
The Honorable Robert F. Orr, RaleighErnest C. Pearson, Esq., Raleigh
Susan Patterson, SanfordSenator William R. Purcell, Laurinburg
The Honorable Thomas W. Ross, DavidsonGeorge Rountree, III, Wilmington
Michael R. Smith, Chapel HillThe Honorable Willis Whichard, Durham

Thad Woodard, Raleigh