Professorships and Professional Development

The School of Government seeks to recruit and retain outstanding faculty and staff members to serve the diverse and rapidly growing needs of North Carolina's municipal, county, and state government leaders. 

Professorship and research endowments  provide critically needed resources to maintain the School's excellence in teaching, advising, and publication for state and local government.



James E. Holshouser Jr. Distinguished Professorship

The late Governor James Holshouser's lifelong commitment to improving North Carolina's communties is recognized and remembered though this fund to support the work of the School's faculty members.

David M. Lawrence Distinguished Professorship

Created to honor David's 40-year career in service to North Carolina's local governments as a faculty member at the School of Government.


Professional Development

John L. Sanders Faculty Development Fund

Honoring the outstanding service of former Institute of Government director and professor John Sanders, this fund provides assistance with faculty research, writing, travel, and materials.


To make a gift to any of the funds listed above, vist our Make a Gift page.

Information on additional funds and giving options are available from the School's development office. Contact Becky Carter, development administrator, at 919.843.2556 or