Faculty Member Anita Brown-Graham Named 2017 CEO of the Year

March 3, 2017

Faculty member Anita Brown-Graham, who rejoined the School of Government in 2016, was named a Triangle Business Journal 2017 CEO of the Year for her leadership of North Carolina State University's Institute for Emerging Issues (IEI), where she served as director from 20

Article by Faculty Member Tyler Mulligan Published in Harvard Law and Policy Review

February 28, 2017

Faculty member Tyler Mulligan's article, "Economic Development Incentives Must be 'Necessary'," has been published in the February online edition of Harvard Law and Policy Review. In the article, Mulligan critiques courts' and legislatures' public benefit analysis for pr

Faculty Member Maureen Berner Lectures in Slovenia

February 24, 2017

Faculty member Maureen Berner delivered two lectures at the University of Ljubljana, Slovenia, to graduate students in the Joint European Master in Comparative Local Development program (Master CoDe) on February 27 and 28. Topics covered included issues of intergovernmental and nonprofit relations (using food assistance as the case study) and the diversity and disparity in programs, politics, and the criminal justice system.

Do You Know How to Read a Bill?

February 22, 2017

The School of Government has created a new e-learning module, "Exploring North Carolina's Legislative Process: How to Read a Bill," the first in a series of modules about the legislature.

Former Director John Sanders to Receive UNC Lifetime Achievement Award

January 30, 2017

On February 16, the UNC Retired Faculty Association will present John L. Sanders with the 2017 Jonathan B. Howes Lifetime Achievement Award at a ceremony at the UNC Friday Center. The award honors the life and work of Jonathan B. Howes and rewards civic engagement and public service by faculty of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Dean Mike Smith Honored with Faculty Service Award

January 19, 2017

The UNC General Alumni Association honored School of Government Dean Mike Smith with the 2017 Faculty Service Award, which celebrates faculty members who have performed outstanding service for the University or the Alumni Association. Each year the award recognizes two UNC faculty members.

UNC President Margaret Spellings to Deliver 2017 Deil S. Wright Lecture

January 13, 2017

UNC President Margaret Spellings will deliver the 2017 Deil S. Wright Lecture at 2:00 PM on March 31 at the School of Government. The event is free and open to the public.

Faculty Member David Ammons Contributes to ICMA Predictions on Local Government

January 4, 2017

The International City/County Management Association (ICMA) invited faculty member David Ammons to offer a prediction about performance management in local government for the coming year to be included in an ICMA e-book, 17 on 2017: Predictions on Local Government from 17 Experts.

Student Ryan Rotundo Creates Opportunities for People with Developmental Disabilities

December 15, 2016

Graduating MPA@UNC student Ryan Rotundo was recently featured by the University for his work creating employment opportunities for people with developmental disabilities. 

Below is an excerpt of the story and a link to a related video. 

Following a Lifelong Calling

Faculty Member David Ammons Receives Budgeting Award

December 13, 2016

Faculty member David Ammons received the 2016 John “Jack” Vogt Award for Outstanding Commitment to the Advancement of Local Government Budgeting and Evaluation at the North Carolina Local Government Budget Association (NCGLBA) Conference in Charlotte on Thursday, December 8.

National Geographic Photographer Delivers 2017 Heath Environmental Lecture

December 6, 2016

On Monday, January 9, 2017, National Geographic photographer Jim Richardson will deliver the Milton S. Health Environmental Lecture at the annual meeting of the NC Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts at Hilton Charlotte University Place at 8:45 a.m. The lecture is free and open to the public.