“Focus Carolina” Features School of Government Faculty

June 24, 2019

WCHL’s Focus Carolina series features UNC-Chapel Hill faculty members who talk about things that ignite their passion for their work. Since last fall, Focus Carolina has featured three School of Government faculty members. In these segments, each of these three faculty members highlights certain issues they focus on or projects they’re involved with.

Leisha DeHart-Davis Becomes Vice President of PMRC

June 18, 2019

On Thursday, June 13, the Public Management Research Association (PMRA) announced School of Government faculty member Leisha DeHart-Davis as the association’s new vice president. Furthermore, PMRA announced that DeHart-Davis will take on the mantle of president in 2020. The announcement was made at this year’s edition of the Public Management Research Conference (PMRC), which was hosted by the School of Government on June 11­–14 in Chapel Hill.

PMRC 2019 Kicks Off in Chapel Hill

June 10, 2019

On Tuesday, June 11, 2019, the PMRA (Public Management Research Association) will kick off its annual Public Management Research Conference (PMRC). Featuring cutting-edge management research from around the world, this year’s PMRC will begin with pre-conference sessions and workshops. Throughout the week, presenters and participants will explore the latest research on emerging issues of public management and governance in various seminars, workshops, and discussions.

Professor Charles Szypszak in Lithuania

June 7, 2019

In May 2019, faculty member Charles Szypszak conducted a weeklong workshop for junior law faculty and doctoral students at the University of Vilnius law school in Lithuania. During his visit, Szypszak instructed participants from various specialties, including human rights, marriage law, as well as civil and criminal procedure.

Retired Director John Sanders to Receive Honorary Degree at Spring 2019 Commencement

May 9, 2019

Retired faculty member and then-Institute of Government Director John L. Sanders will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws (LL.D.) degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill at Spring Commencement on Sunday, May 12.

Faculty Member Jeffrey Hughes Confirmed to Join North Carolina Utilities Commission

May 6, 2019

The North Carolina General Assembly confirmed School of Government faculty member Jeffrey Hughes last Thursday, October 30, to serve on the North Carolina Utilities Commission.

Leisha DeHart-Davis Receives Award from Brigham Young University’s Marriott School

April 3, 2019

In March 2019, faculty member Leisha DeHart-Davis received the Cornia Award from the Brigham Young University (BYU) Marriott School. DeHart-Davis gave a lecture as part of the Gary C.

State Employees’ Credit Union Invests in Developing Local Government Workforce Through UNC School of Government Training

March 26, 2019

In March 2019, State Employees’ Credit Union (SECU) Foundation and the UNC School of Government announced the expansion of Lead for North Carolina, an effort to train and place young graduates in local governments across North Carolina. Made possible by a gift of $500,000 from SECU Foundation, the UNC School of Government will train and place 20 young college graduates in city and county governments in Tier I communities across the state.

DeHart-Davis and Nelson Advise on Advancing Women in the Local Government Profession

March 23, 2019

School faculty members Leisha DeHart-Davis and Kimberly Nelson are advising on the advancement of women in the local government profession.

Dr. Don Kettl to Deliver the 2019 Deil Wright Lecture

March 19, 2019

Donald F. Kettl, author, editor, and professor, will deliver the 2019 Deil Wright Lecture at 3:00 p.m. on Thursday, April 4 at the UNC School of Government. An expert in public sector personnel management and intergovernmental relations, Kettl is professor at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, at the University of Texas at Austin. He is also a nonresident senior fellow at the Volcker Alliance and the Brookings Institution.

UNC MPA Program Improves Ranking Among U.S. News & World Report’s Best Graduate Schools

March 12, 2019

The Master of Public Administration program hosted at the UNC School of Government is ranked among “America’s Best Graduate Schools” by U.S. News & World Report. The program improved two positions since the 2019 rankings, tying for 21st in the public affairs category and ranking second in the nation in the local government specialty area. 

School Convenes Experts to Assist Local Governments in Managing Public Health and Drinking Water Issues

February 28, 2019

When an event affects the supply or safety of drinking water, local governments are on the front lines to assist with a variety of needs, from obtaining alternative water supplies to getting reliable information about health risks.