Pre-Sale for the 2018 Cumulative Supplement to Crimes Now Available

February 22, 2019

The newest edition to the NC Crimes series, authored by faculty member Jessica Smith, is now available for pre-order.

School of Government to Host Criminal Justice Summit

January 30, 2019

The UNC School of Government will host North Carolina's first Criminal Justice Summit on March 15, 2019 at the Carolina Club in Chapel Hill. National and state experts with broad-ranging ideological perspectives will discuss key issues capturing attention in North Carolina and around the nation: bail reform; overcriminalization; and barriers to re-entry, including fines and fees and the crimin

Faculty Member Anita Brown-Graham Launches Television Show Highlighting North Carolina Communities

January 14, 2019

Starting January 2019, UNC School of Government faculty member Anita Brown-Graham is hosting a new television show that highlights community solutions across North Carolina.

Faculty Member Jonathan Morgan Advises on Economic Development Tools

January 7, 2019

On January 16, 2019, School of Government faculty member Jonathan Morgan was a featured speaker at the launch of Homegrown Tools for Economic Development, a database created by NCGrowth, an affiliate center of the Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Faculty Member Norma Houston Will Advise State Leadership Team on Recovery and Resiliency

January 7, 2019

In January 2019, School of Government faculty member Norma Houston was named an advisor to the leadership team of the newly formed North Carolina Office of Recovery and Resiliency. Houston will continue her work at the School of Government but serve in an advisory capacity on issues such as FEMA programs and local government procurement.

Special Meeting Notice: Thursday, December 20

December 20, 2018

The Social Services Working Group (SSWG) will meet on Thursday, December 20 from 10 a.m. - 11 a.m. The meeting will be held via conference call. The SSWG will review and revise the Stage Two draft report and will likely vote on the final report.  

Meeting Details: Members of the public are welcome to listen to the meeting. Call 1.800.920.7487; enter code 61152452#     

DFI Facilitates New Vision for Historic Broughton Hospital Campus

December 17, 2018

In November 2018, the N.C. Department of Commerce released an updated master plan outlining the redevelopment of 800 acres at the historic Broughton Hospital campus, located within a state-designated Opportunity Zone census tract, in Morganton, North Carolina. The updated Broughton District master plan, which was facilitated by the School’s Development Finance Initiative (DFI), was presented to local officials in November 2018.

School Faculty Member John Rubin Teaches Criminal Justice in London

December 4, 2018

For the fall semester, John Rubin, School faculty member and director of Indigent Defense Education, is teaching and serving as the faculty director for the Honors Carolina study abroad program in London, England.
Rubin w

Together with Partners, School of Government Launches Lead for North Carolina

December 4, 2018

Earlier this year, together with strategic partners including the N.C. League of Municipalities, the N.C. Association of County Commissioners, and the N.C. City and County Management Association, the School of Government launched Lead for North Carolina.

Prudential Invests in Training Locally Elected Leaders throughout North Carolina

November 14, 2018

In October 2018, the School of Government at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill received a gift of $115,000 from Prudential Financial, Inc., to continue its support of the School’s work assisting North Carolina local elected officials as they lead and govern their communities.

Special Meeting Notice: Wednesday, October 10, 2018

October 8, 2018

The H1031 Working Group, authorized by North Carolina Session Law 2018-83, will meet on Wednesday, October 10, 2018, from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. During this meeting, the working group appointees will review their legislative charge and formulate a plan for carrying out their work.

School of Government Partners with Volcker Alliance on Government/University Initiative

October 3, 2018

The UNC School of Government and the New York City-based Volcker Alliance have partnered on the Government-to-University (G2U) Initiative, which focuses on building connections between government and universities to strengthen alignment on recruitment, skills development, and research.